Buy a phone number: every way to get one, by cost
Three questions, then a list of every provider and seller that can supply your number, with the cheapest first year at the top.
Answer three questions to find the lowest-cost way to get your number.
All providers, sorted by first-year cost
| Provider | Cheapest plan | First year | Local numbers | Toll-free | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic (Just for me), free | $0 | Yes | No | Open Google Voice | |
| Free plan, free | $0 | Yes | No | Open TextNow | |
| Pay-as-you-go local number, $1.15 a month | $13.80 | Yes | Yes | Open Twilio | |
| Standard, $3.99 a month billed yearly | $47.99 | Yes | No | Open Burner | |
| Solo, $6.99 a month billed yearly | $84 | Yes | Yes | Open UniTel Voice | |
| Deluxe (local number), $6.99 a month billed yearly | $102.88 | Yes | Yes | Open GoDaddy Conversations (formerly Smartline) | |
| The US & CA Metered plan costs $10.50 a month billed yearly | $126 | Yes | Yes | Open Zoom Phone | |
| Starter, $12 a month billed yearly | $144 | Yes | Yes | Open KrispCall | |
| Elite, $12 a month billed yearly | $144 | Yes | Yes | Open eVoice | |
| VBC Mobile, $19.99 a month | $167.88 | Yes | Not stated | Open Vonage Business | |
| True Solo, $14 a month billed yearly | $168 | Yes | Yes | Open Grasshopper | |
| Connect Standard, $15 a month billed yearly | $180 | Yes | Not stated | Open Dialpad | |
| NEXT Core, $15 a month billed yearly | $180 | Yes | Yes | Open Nextiva | |
| Basic, $15 a month billed yearly | $180 | Yes | Yes | Open Phone.com | |
| Starter, $15 a month billed yearly | $180 | Yes | Yes | Open Quo (formerly OpenPhone) | |
| Startup, $19 a month billed yearly | $228 | Yes | Yes | Open 800.com | |
| RingEX Core, $20 a month billed yearly | $240 | Yes | Yes | Open RingCentral | |
| Essentials, $19.95 a month | $269.35 | Yes | Yes | Open Ooma Office |
Some sellers and providers may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the order, which sorts by what the first year costs. How we make money
Sellers with numbers listed
| Seller | What it sells | Listed price | Monthly fee | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local numbers | From $9 one-time | None stated | Search at Exclusive Digits | |
| Local and toll-free | From $9.95 one-time | $2.99 a month | Search at NumberBarn | |
| Local and toll-free | From $99 one-time | None stated | Search at RingBoost | |
| Local and toll-free | From $100 one-time | None stated | Search at PhoneNumberExpert | |
| 212areacode.comNumber broker | Local numbers | From $150 one-time | None stated | Search at 212areacode.com |
| Local and toll-free | From $200 one-time | None stated | Search at PhoneNumberGuy | |
| Toll-free vanity | Asks for a quote | None stated | Search at CallSource Vanity | |
| Local and toll-free | Asks for a quote | None stated | Search at Golden Phone Numbers |
Some sellers and providers may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the order, which sorts by what the first year costs. How we make money
How the ranking works
We work out first-year cost from the lowest plan price for 12 months. Then add any one-time number fee listed on that provider's own pricing page. The seller's price is a one-time price for the number; running it requires a provider. Learn how the index works.